Alex Toth….

I was introduced to Alex Toth at a very early age, and the funny thing is I didn’t even know it was Toth!  I was a cartoon junkie in my youth (secretly I still am…) I watched everything that came on from Superfriends to Jonny Quest to Space Ghost, and the list goes on and on.  Well unbekongst to me at that age was that Alex Toth was responsible for a lot of what I was watching.  Toth is a certified genius, and everytime I see his work I just tend to stare at it and take in what I am viewing.  There have been a number of great books that have come out about the Life and Art of Alex Toth, and I will show you the 4 that I picked up.

*Alex Toth: Black & White by Manuel Auad which came out in 1999.  The copy I have is the limited edition version signed and numbered by Toth.  This copy is #305/500 and in excellent shape.  This book contains 12 complete stories that range from 1950 to 1990.

Year: 1999
Paid: $100
Art: Alex Toth
Quantity: 500
Binding: Black Cloth with White text on spine, no text on cover.
Publisher: Auad Publishing
Comments: limited edition version signed and numbered by Toth.  This copy is #305/500 and in excellent shape.

*Alex Toth edited by Manuel Auad which came out in 1995.  ALEX TOTH is the first book on the art of Alex Toth, which was published by Kitchen Sink. In 1996 the book won the Eisner Award for Best Comics-Related Publication.

Year: 1995
Paid: $100
Art: Alex Toth
Quantity: 500
Binding: No dustjacket as issued.
Publisher: Kitchen Sink Press
Comments: limited edition version signed and numbered by Toth.  This copy is #200/500 and in excellent shape.

*Genius Isolated: The Life and Art of Alex Toth by Dean Mullaney and Bruce Canwell.  Genius Isolated is the first in a three-book survey of Alex Toth and his life and work. This segment brings the artist’s biography up to the early 1960s.  This book contains 21 complete stories, as well as, unpublished art, interviews, and never befrore seen pages.

Year: 2011
Paid: $50
Art: Alex Toth
Quantity: n/a
Binding: No dustjacket as issued.
Publisher: IDW
Comments: Great condition

*Setting the Standard: Comics by Alex Toth 1952-1954 by Greg Sadowski.

Year: 2011
Paid: $50
Art: Alex Toth
Quantity: n/a
Binding: No dustjacket as issued.
Publisher: Fantagraphic Books
Comments: Great condition

Leave a comment